Flip Flop: Felix Ofosu Kwakye, George Andah, other big wigs lose parliamentary seats


Election 2020 has proven to be filled with a lot of surprises as many big names in the political circles have failed to retain their parliamentary seats.

Felix Ofosu Kwakye, the National Democratic Congress’ Member of Parliament for the Abura Asebu Kwamankese Constituency lost his seat to the New Patriotic Party.

SEE ALSO :Ghana election updates : Counting and declaration of 2020 election results

He lost to Elvis Morris Donkor by 176 votes and took to Facebook to concede saying; “We lost by 176 votes.”

Deputy Minister for Communications George Andah has lost his Awutu Senya West parliamentary seat to Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Provisional results available suggests, Gizella Tetteh polled 32,708 while George Andah polled 29,832.

SEE ALSO :Election 2020 : Zanetor Rawlings retains Korle Klottey seat

parliamentary seats

Deputy Defence Minister Major (rtd) Derek Oduro has lost the Nkoranza North seat.

The retired army officer was defeated by the main opposition National Democratic Congress’ candidate, Mr Joseph Kwasi Mensah.

Mr. Mensah polled 15,124 votes while the incumbent polled 10,978 votes.

Meanwhile, Zanetor Rawlings in a landslide victory has retained her Korle Klottey parliamentary seat on the ticket of the NDC.

SEE ALSO :La Hustle: Ursula Owusu mocks Rev Kweku Addo with Medikal’s song after claiming victory

Zanetor polled 39,193 votes to retain her seat beating her contender Prince Appiah Debrah who polled of the NPP who garnered 31,239 votes.

Incumbent Member of Parliament, Nii Lantey Vanderpuye has won the Odododiodoo constituency for the third term.

Certified results from 254 of the 258 polling stations, suggest Mr. Vanderpuye had polled a total of 40,502 seats as his closest contender Nii Lantey Bannerman polled a total of 34, 289.

SEE ALSO :Election 2020: Massive jubilation as exclusive video from NPP’s strongroom pops up