Omah Lay wins Next Rated at 14th Headies award show | Complete list of winners


The 14th edition of Nigeria’s premier music award “The Headies” was held on February 21, 2021 via virtual and live media due to COVID-19 restrictions at Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

The event was hosted by TV personality and actress Nancy Isime and comedian Bovi on Sunday night with great performances from BBNaija 2020 winner, Laycon, alongside, DJ Neptune and Joeboy, Fireboy, the Cavemen and many others.

After leading nominations with nine, Fireboy led the way with five wins including Album of The Year for his sophomore album.

SEE ALSO :Davido tackles Laycon, Zlatan as music stars storm Lagos for epic football match

Here is the complete list of winners at the 14th Headies

Wizkid won two awards including Artist of The Year. Nigerian heartthrob, Simi also went home with two awards including the newly created Songwriter of The Year.

On his part, Nigerian new-kid-on-the-block, Omah Lay won the coveted Next Rated award, which comes with a new SUV. While Davido won Best Music Video with “1 Milli” Directed by K- Winner.

See the list of the winners below for the 14th edition of the Headies Awards.

Best R&B Album

Laughter, Tears and Goosebumps – Fireboy DML – Winner

I like girls with trobul – Sarz(featuringWurld)
King – Praiz
Boo of the Booless – Chike
Celia – Tiwa Savage
Best Rap Album

Best Rap Album

God’s Engineering – A-Q – Winner
Illy Chapo X – Illbliss
YPSZN2 – Psycho YP
Cult! – Paybac Iboro
The Erigma 2 – Erigga

Best R&B Single

Under the sky – Praiz
Duduke – Simi
Bad Influence – Omah Lay
Dangerous love – Tiwa Savage
Fireboy – Tattoo – Winner
Best Pop Single

Best Pop Single

Billionaire – Teni
Nobody – DJ Neptune (featuring Joeboy, Mr Eazi) – Winner
Lady – Rema
FEM – Davido
Joro – Wizkid
Skeletun – Tekno

Best Pop Album

Fireboydml – Apollo – Winner
Davido – A Good Time
Yemi Alade- Woman of Steel
Burna Boy – African Giant
Adekunle GOLD- Afro Pop Vol. 1

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Wurld – “Ghost Town”
Chike – “Forgive”
Praiz – “Under the sky” – Winner
Cobhams – “We plenti”
Nonso Amadi – “What makes you sure”
Johnny Drille – “Count on you”

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

Simi – “No longer beneficial”
Lindsey Abudei – “One on the outside”
Niniola – “Addicted” – Winner
J’dess – “Chi Efo”
Yemi Alade – “Lai Lai”
Imanse – “Ajala”

Best Rap Single

“OGB4IG” – Reminisce
“Shut Up” – Blaqbonez
“Country” – Illbliss
“Get the Info” – Phyno (featuring Falz, Phenom)
Bop daddy” – Falz (featuring Ms Banks) – Winner

Best Street Hop Artiste

Naira Marley & Young John – “Mafo”
Mayorkun – “Geng” – Winner
Reminisce (featuring Olamide, Naira Marley) – “Instagram”
Rudeboy – “Audio Money”
Rudeboy – “Audio Money”
IVD & Zlatan – “Bolanle”
Olamide – “Pawon”

Best Collabo

“Know You” – Ladipoe(featuring Simi) – Winner
“Nobody” – DJ Neptune(featuring Joeboy, Mr Eazi)
“Sweet in the middle” – Davido(featuring Naira Marley, Zlatan & Wurld)
“Totori” – ID Cabasa(featuring Wizkid, Olamide)
“Get the Info” – Phyno(featuring Phenom, Falz)

Lyricist on the Roll

A-Q – “Eunice”
Blaqbonez – “Define Rap 2”
M.I Abaga – “Trinity”
Illbliss – “Country” – Winner
Phenom – “Get the Info”
Phyno – “Speak Life”

Song of the Year

“FEM” – Davido
“Nobody” – DJ Neptune (featuring Joeboy, Mr Eazi)
“Joro” – Wizkid
“Mafo” – Naira Marley
“Duduke” – Simi – Winner

Best Recording of the Year

“Ozymandias” – Brymo – Winner
“Smile” – Wizkid (featuring H.E.R.)
“Wonderful” – Burna Boy
“Dreamer” – Fireboy DML
“Ghost Town” – Wurld

Album of the Year

African Giant – Burna Boy
Apollo – Fireboy DML – Winner
Afro Pop Vol. 1 – Adekunle Gold
Yellow – Brymo
Boo of the Booless – Chike

Artiste of the Year

Burna Boy
Wizkid – Winner
Tiwa Savage

Producer of the Year

Pheelz – “Billionaire” by Teni – Winner
SPAX – “Away” by Oxlade
Kel P – “Pull Up” by Burna Boy
Sarz – “Mad” by Sarz, Wurld

Best Music Video

“Eli” by Fireboy DML – Clarence Peters
“1 Milli” by Davido – Director K – Winner
“Smile” by Wizkid – Meji Alabi
“Billionaire” by Teni – TG Omori
“Shekere” by Yemi Alade – Ovie Etseyatse

Next Rated

Omah Lay – Winner
Bella Shmurda

African Artiste Recognition

South Africa Master KG – Winner
Ghana Kuami Eugene
Kenya Sauti Sol
Ghana Shatta Wale
Ghana Stonebwoy

Viewer’s Choice

Omah Lay
Burna Boy
Fireboy DML
DJ Neptune
Wizkid – Winner

Songwriter of the Year

Simisola Bolatito Ogunleye – “Duduke” by Simi – Winner
Adedamola Adefolahan – “Dreamer” by Fireboy DML
Damini Ogulu – “Way too big” by Burna Boy
Stanley Omah Didia – “Bad Influence” by Omah Lay
Sadiq Onifade – “Ghost Town” by Wurld
Adekunle Kosoko – “1 Milli” by Davido

Best Alternative Album

Yellow – Brymo
Lucid – Aṣa
The Light – Bez
Pioneers – DRB LasGidi
Roots – The Cavemen – Winner

Best Alternative Song

“Corner” – Lady Donli (featuring VanJess, The Cavemen)
“I wonder” – Moelogo – Winner
“Bitter” – Deena Ade
“Anita” – The Cavemen
“Money Devotion” – Gbasky
“God Save The Queen” – Olu

Rookie of the Year

Alpha P
Bad Boy Timz – Winner

Hip Hop World Revelation of the Year

Victor AD
Fireboy DML – Winner


A special recognition to an individual(s) for excellence and outstanding impact to the entertainment industry.

Eedris Abdulkareem- Winner


Headies Hall of Fame

A special recognition to an individual for excellence and outstanding impact to the entertainment industry.

King Sunny Ade

SEE ALSO :Here’s how your favorite Celebrities showed up for #AMVCA7 [Photos]